Tiengemeten and 3 things I would bring on an island

Do you remember the rhetorical question “name three things you would bring to a deserted island” from our childhood memory notebooks? I finally know the answer: sunscreen, water and those Swiss army knives sets. Last island I’ve been on was not really deserted, but those three things apply anyway.

P.S. It was summer when I visited the island, but I still wanted to write about it, because I’m thinking to revisit it these days, when the fog dissipates in the morning. Tiengemeten Natuurmonumenten is the home of few Highland cattle, beavers and eagles, only few kilometers away (40) from noisy, modern Rotterdam. You can get there by booking a cruise on a small boat (10 minutes trip). Expect pristine wilderness and old bits of countryside.

*I see (nether)lands was created as an initiative to promote the beautiful, yet underrated parts of the Netherlands.

Leave a comment